Need better info on UART

Post Reply
A_Snatcher
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:39 pm

Need better info on UART

Post by A_Snatcher » Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:53 pm

I have been through the whole of the internet looking for an answer on the proper way to configure your TMC2208 v1.2 .

Which pins need soldering? I have connected the two pins in the three pin set as shown in your photo. Do I need to solder anything on top?
My board is BIQU SKR 1.3 and I cannot get all 4 drivers working in UART at the same time. Right now an M122 consistently shows the E0 as all low. Your User Manual still had info for adding a wire loom to the board and the pin identifier section is inadequate to say the least.
Which tx/rx pins do I use on the SKR 1.3? I'm using the default SKR pin.h and all pins are correct. I have doubts it's Marlin related and I want to confirm that my TMC2208 v1.2 were configured correctly by comparing them with a known working config.
You all need to standardize the layout of the breakout boards because it becomes a massive chore to track down accurate info.

William
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 3:40 pm

Re: Need better info on UART

Post by William » Fri Sep 06, 2019 10:35 am

Hi, Snatcher

Q: "Do I need to solder anything on top?"
A: I think yes. You need to solder the cable to the pin on the top of the TMC2208.

Q: "Right now an M122 consistently shows the E0 as all low"
A: The gcode: M122-TMC debugging. Can you attach all the states of it?

Q: "Which tx/rx pins do I use on the SKR 1.3?"
A: It based on your motherboard. You can check this link:
https://www.instructables.com/id/TMC220 ... nd-V13-Co/

William

User avatar
Eryone
Site Admin
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 08, 2019 10:50 am

Re: Need better info on UART

Post by Eryone » Sat Sep 07, 2019 9:51 am

Hi, the SKR1.3 has the jumpers for the TMC driver board UART mode.
You just need to jumper XUART, YUART, ZUART then it will work.
No need to set the tx/rx pin for TMC driver board.

A_Snatcher
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:39 pm

Re: Need better info on UART

Post by A_Snatcher » Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:30 pm

Well then, I'm at a loss. I just put the E0 into legacy because UART would not function.
It's functioning, but I'm disappointed at the loss of remote adjustments.
Thanks for the reply.

Post Reply